Use this one-page guide on Climate Change to jump start your research!
Why Do Search Words Matter?:
By using the right search terms you can be more successful at finding the exact information you need for your research paper or project. Use the words below to search for useful information in books and articles at the MJC Library.
To access eBooks if you're off campus, you'll need to log in using your MJC student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birth date.
Go to the next box down to learn how to search for books and eBooks at MJC.
Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. You can also use books to find primary sources, which are often published together in collections.
You'll use the library catalog to search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.
If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.
If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database, simply enter your student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birth date.
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? Search 22 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? Use Access World News when you need to find current news stories. It's especially useful for local and California news. This is your source for The Modesto Bee from January 1989 to the present.
What's included: Articles from of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. It includes in-depth special reports and hot topics from around the country.
Use Google Scholar to find scholarly information on the Web.
Use these credible Web resources to build upon the knowledge you have already gained about your topic through your reading of books and articles. One of the best ways to evaluate Web resources is to compare what you read on the Web to what you have already learned from all of your other research.
