Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
Why search here? Use this family of five history databases to get started with your history research. You can search all five simultaneously or each one individually. The five databases are, American History, African-American History, American Indian History, Ancient and Medieval History, and Modern World History.
What's includes: These databases include a wide variety of research sources including, in-depth overview essays, biographies, journal articles, images, primary sources, maps, videos, and more.
Why search here? Search 29 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Once you get a handle on the story of your family's ethnic background and have done some casual exploration on the immigration story, you are ready to reflect on which elements of that story are the most meaningful to you. The sources you are required to find will eventually find and use should help support the story you want to tell.
In other words: Your story drives your source selection; not the other way around.
