Qualitative Studies is a major subject heading in CINAHL. Explode the Qualitative Studies subject heading, and see what you get. Explode will include the following CINAHL Headings: Action Research, Ethnographic Research, Ethnological Research, Ethnonursing Research, Grounded Theory, Naturalistic Inquiry, Phenomenological Research.
Experiment with related CINAHL subject headings such as Focus Groups, Narratives, Interviews (explode Interviews to include Semi-Structured Interview, Structured Interview, Unstructured Interview), Descriptive Research, Descriptive Statistics, Audiorecording, Videorecording, Diaries, Observational Methods (explode to include Non-Participant Observation, Participant Observation, Structured Categories, Unstructured Categories), Projective Techniques (explodes to include Pictorial Methods, Verbal Projective Techniques), Vignettes, etc.
Try adding adding a keyword that might specifically identify qualitative research, including:
You might also try the following terms listed below.
But, if you find yourself needing to try these terms after having tried the specific limiters suggested above and using the term qualitative, you may want to first reassess your other keywords or ask the librarians for help before trying these terms listed below.
ethnograph* or phenomenol* or ethnonurs* or "grounded theor*" or "purposive sample" or hermeneutic* or heuristic*or semiotics or "lived experience*" or narrative* or "life experiences" or "cluster sample" or "action research" or "observational method" or "content analysis" or "thematic analysis" or "constant comparative method" or "field stud*" or "theoretical sample" or "discourse analysis" or "focus group*" or "ethnological research" or ethnomethodolog* or interview*
The terms listed above are different types of qualitative research.
Refine/limit your search with Clinical Queries. Select within the following options. The search strategies behind the limiter values are listed below:
((MH “study design+” not MM “study design+”) or MH “attitude” or (MH “interviews+” not MM “interviews+”))
((MH “grounded theory” not MM “grounded theory”) or (TI thematic analysis or AB thematic analysis or MW thematic analysis))
((TI interview or AB interview) or (MH “audiorecording” not MM “audiorecording”) or (TI qualitative stud* or AB qualitative stud*))
Refine/Limit the set to Publication Types that are qualitative by definition, for example Anecdote, Interview, Metasynthesis, etc.
In CINAHL Quantitative Studies is a minor search heading and does not offer robust subject search strategies. You cannot "explode" Quantitative Studies to drill down to certain types of quantitative studies, as you can do with the Qualitative Studies subject heading.
In addition to trying to use the Quantitative Studies subject heading, you could also limit by RANDOMIZED CONTROL TRIALS. After that, try selecting PUBLICATION TYPES that are likely to contain quantitative research. Select only Clinical Trial and/or Randomized Controlled Trial. These are types of quantitative studies.
CINAHL has the following Subject Headings that may be of use: Multimethod Studies or Triangulation
You can also search your topic with the following suggested text words:
|PubMed||CINAHL Plus with Full Text|
|Coverage: 1940’s to date||Coverage: 1937 to date|
|Indexes 5600 journals||Indexes 5000 journals in nursing and allied health|
|Includes citations to journal articles primarily||Includes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, AVs, nurse practice acts, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, research instruments, etc.|
|Focuses on biomedical literature||Focuses on nursing and allied health literature|
|Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) as its controlled vocabulary||Based on MeSH with additional CINAHL (nursing and allied health) subject headings|
|Not possible to limit search to peer-reviewed journals||Peer Reviewed journal limit available|
|Does not include cited references from the end of articles||Includes cited references listed at the end of many articles|