What's New in the Library & Learning Center

What's New at the L & LC Spring 2025

Welcome to Spring 2025 Semester

We're super excited to let you know about some events and changes for Spring 2025. Please come visit us starting the first day of the semester--Monday, January 13--when the Library & Learning Center locations open their doors at 7:30 a.m. We've got computer labs, study rooms, friendly staff and librarians (and more) to support your learning. 

Programming

Artificial Intelligence as Information Literacy: 

• Teaching with AI Series for Faculty: We're bringing José Antonio Bowen to MJC in a series of presentations intended to lead faculty through thinking about AI in general and AI in our classrooms. The keynote/hands-on workshop is January 31 at 2:00 pm. Subsequent workshops are scheduled for Fridays in March (Mar. 7, 14, 21). All events hybrid: In person CAT116; online links in the VRC listings. The Teaching with AI ebook is available to the MJC community via OneSearch (you'll be prompted to use your single sign-on credentials to access). 
• Chatbots and Checkpoints: Where Does AI Fit into the Research Process? A Workshop for Students to be presented at both campuses during the month of February. 
  • West Campus (Sierra 209): 
    • Tues. Feb. 4: 2:35 - 4:00 pm
    • Weds. Feb. 5: 11:55 am - 1:20 pm
  • East Campus (Founders 211): 
    • Mon. Feb. 10: 12:45 - 2:10 pm
    • Thurs. Feb. 13: 9:35 - 11:00 am
    • Tues. Feb. 18: 2:20 - 3:45 pm
    • Weds. Feb. 19: 9:35 - 11 am

Databases/Resources

We have one new resource and a big change in the interface of one of our mainstay database publishers:

• The Atlantic is now available to the MJC community. Users can access it from either our Databases page (look under "A") or by typing Atlantic in the Search box on the Databases page. 

  • Why search here? Since 1857, The Atlantic has maintained a national reputation as a high-quality publication with a moderate worldview. Whether you're tackling a research project, seeking fresh perspectives on current events, or simply exploring the latest in science, culture, foreign affairs, the economy, and politics you'll want to use this substantive source. The Atlantic brings you in-depth articles for serious and curious readers that spark conversation and critical thinking. Our coverage extends back to 1857.

• EBSCOhost has redesigned the main search page of its databases, namely, EBSCOhost eBooks Collection, EBSCOhost Databases, and ERIC. The main search interface now sports a more visually appealing and streamlined look. Also, many search filters and limiters (especially our favorite--date parameters) are now accessible via Advanced Search. Check it out: Learn it, love it.