Skip to Main Content

ENGL 101- De la Cruz - Antiheroes: Home

Use this research guide to get started on your (Im)Morality of the Antihero Research Essay

Know Your Sources

Evaluate your sources

Scaffolding

Research questions

Do background reading on your antihero

Find background information on better-known comic book characters in Gale eBooks

Batman
Hulk
Wolverine
Rorschach
Blade
Punisher
etc.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.

Search the web for background information on other antiheroes from comics:

Using the Web effectively

The Web is a great place to find news and current information, but it's also full of fan sites on this topic.

Remember to carefully evaluate every source you find on the Web using the CRAAP test.

Find scholarly articles in library databases

Find scholarly articles on antiheroes, comics, moral disengagement, etc. in these databases:

Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.

Find print books and eBooks in the library catalog

Why Comics? by Hillary L. Chute
Call Number: PN6710 .C48 2017
Superheroes! Capes and Crusaders in Comics and Film by Roz Kaveney
Call Number: eBook
Reading Comics: How Graphic Novels Work and What They Mean by Douglas Wolk
Call Number: PN6725 .W65 2007
Comics, Manga, and Graphic Novels: A History of Graphic Narratives by Robert S. Petersen
Call Number: eBook
The Evolution of the Costumed Avenger: the 4,000-Year History of the Superhero by Jess Nevins
Call Number: PN56.5 .H45 N48 2017
Comic Books Incorporated: How the Business of Comics Became the Business of Hollywood by Shawna Kidman
Call Number: eBook

MLA and plagiarism

MLA style
Format your paper and cite your sources in MLA Style
See sample works cited page and annotated bibliograpy
Learn how to avoid plagiarism

Ask a Librarian

Getting help has never been easier. Your MJC librarians are here to help.

Email: ask@mjc.libanswers.com

Drop-In research help

Schedule a Research Appointment

Phone:

209-575-6230 (East Campus) or
209-575-6949 (West Campus)

Text: (209) 710-5270

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2024 1:51 PM
URL: https://libguides.mjc.edu/antiheroes
Print Page

Subjects: English

Tags: comics, de_la_cruz

Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0 and CC BY-NC 4.0 Licenses.