Click on the words below to see or hear a definition, how the word is used, and find out about its origin.
Dictionaries are more than just books filled with definitions. There are some filled with definitions, some filled with origins of words, and some filled with encyclopedia-type articles.
What they all have in common is that the entries are arranged alphabetically, so that you can find what you need easily.
Great resources to jump start your research: Use when you want to read in-depth topic overview articles, get reliable background information, biographies, etc.
Simply begin by searching on the name of your subject followed by the word dictionary. For example, psychology dictionaries, sports dictionaries, popular culture dictionaries, science dictionaries, law dictionaries etc.
Use the search bar below to begin your search:
You can also use library databases to find online specialized dictionaries that the MJC Library owns.
| When connecting to research databases from off campus you'll need to login just like you do for email or Canvas |
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
Why search here? Use this database to search our collection of thousands of eBooks the MJC Library owns through EBSCOhost. These books can be a great place to start your research.
What's included: Thousands of eBooks covering a wide variety of topics.
From speciality to general dictionaries, the Web has many free ones for you to try: