Using the right words when you search can help you find more and better resources.
Background Reading:
It's important to begin your research learning something about your subject; in fact, you won't be able to create a focused, manageable thesis unless you already know something about your topic.
This step is important so that you will:
If you're working from off campus, you'll need to login just like you do for your MJC email and Canvas classes.
Top Picks:
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
Why search here? This is a great database to use when you want to explore different viewpoints on controversial or hot-button issues.
What's included: It includes pro/con articles, court cases, primary sources, videos, media, editorials, and news on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Use the search or browse topics by subject or A to Z.
Why search here? Use this database when you want to find comprehensive, unbiased reporting and analysis to get background information on issues in the news.
What's included: Overview reports of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America.
Why search here? Use this database when you want to explore your topic from a global perspective or to analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world with a global awareness.
What's included: You'll find news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
Use these databases below to delve more deeply into specific aspects of your topic.
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.
If you're working from off campus, you'll need to login just like you do for your MJC email and Canvas classes.
Why search here? Search 22 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Use the Web to explore cutting-edge topics and to read current information.
Google Scholar is a great way to use Google to find scholarly information on the Web. Search Google Scholar below:
Browse Selected Web Sites:
You may also be interested in these two relevant and reliable Website below.
Teen Mental Health in an Online World by 
Ten Arguments for Deleting Your Social Media Accounts Right Now by 
Who’s Raising the Kids? : Big Tech, Big Business, and the Lives of Children by 
Mixed Feelings : Exploring the Emotional Impact of Our Digital Habits by 
Social Media in the 21st Century by Your teacher should have told you what style you should use.
Click on a citation style below to learn how to cite your sources and format your paper using that style.
Phone:
Text: (209) 710-5270
