Consider these themes of the Industrial Revolution that relate to the American Dream:
Labor—The Industrial Revolution changed forever the relationship between employers and workers. In the preindustrial economy, workers usually enjoyed highly personal relationships with their employers. The Industrial Revolution changed all that. Since labor was a key component of business overhead, employers had little compunction about cutting wages and many workers could easily find themselves facing untenable economic situations, with wages falling and prices rising. Many workers felt that their only recourse was to organize into labor unions and bargain collectively with employers.
Politics—An activist federal government had its origins in the post-Civil War era when discontent with the downside of the Industrial Revolution—the wide income gap between the rich and the poor; low pay, long hours, and unsafe factories for workers; and increasing environmental problems—increased. Out of such discontent emerged the Populist movement of the 1890s and the Progressive movement of the first two decades of the 1900s.
Social Change—The old rural, agricultural economy gave way to an economy of factories and mass production and a society in which most people lived in larger towns and cities. The Industrial Revolution also produced a large, visible working class and a new upper class of fabulously wealthy individuals. A new generation of social workers insisted that something needed to be done to improve the lives of America’s most vulnerable citizens—the poor, immigrants, working women, and children.
Source: The Industrial Revolution: Key Themes and Documents (see books)
Use the Gale eBooks database (link is below) to find short overview articles on topics related to your research.
Some recommended search terms:
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
Try thinking about your readings in terms of how they fit into broader social movements in the United States and the American Dream. The sources below will give you some ideas and background information:
Why search here? Use this family of five history databases to get started with your history research. You can search all five simultaneously or each one individually. The five databases are, American History, African-American History, American Indian History, Ancient and Medieval History, and Modern World History.
What's includes: These databases include a wide variety of research sources including, in-depth overview essays, biographies, journal articles, images, primary sources, maps, videos, and more.
Why search here? Use this database to find information on U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present.
What's included: Academic journals, magazines, books, conference papers, and dissertations
Why search here? Use this database to find primary sources and brief overview articles to explore themes in the African American experience from African origins to the present day.
What's included: Content is compiled from a variety of sources, including ABC-CLIO's award-winning books, recognized scholars and writers in various fields, educators, and professional development specialists.
Why search here? Use this database when you want topical, in-depth coverage of world history from antiquity to the present. Read about the background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for the major topics in history from every region of the world. This is a great database for finding primary sources.
What's included: You'll find pro/con articles, timelines, and primary sources.
The Making of the American Dream: An Unconventional History of the United States From 1607 to 1900 by 
Ages of American Capitalism: A History of the United States by 
The Industrial Revolution: Key Themes and Documents by 
Inhuman Bondage: The Rise and Fall of Slavery in the New World by 
The World the Civil War Made by 
If you'd like much more in-depth instruction about the process of conducting research, please check out our guides:
