Research Guides: Statistics: Statistics By Topic Area

Using Statistics in Your Writing

Purdue OWL: Statistics and Visuals
A handout which explains how to write with statistics including quick tips, writing descriptive statistics, writing inferential statistics, and using visuals with statistics.
The Writing Center at UNC-CH: Statistics
How to use statistics to make your argument as effectively as possible; from The Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Statistics Every Writer Should Know
The site describes itself as "a simple guide to understanding basic statistics, for journalists and other writers who might not know math"

Good Places to Start

FedStats
Statistics collected by over 100 separate U.S. Government agencies are gathered together. Subjects are searchable by keywords or by a list of topics.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides reports and statistics on the issues, attitudes and social trends shaping America and the world.
Population Reference Bureau
A private, nonprofit organization which informs people around the world about population, health and the environment for research or academic purposes.
Robert Niles Online
Robert Niles' Journalism Help: Finding Data on the Internet
Google Public Data Explorer
The Google Public Data Explorer takes large data sets and makes them palatable for public consumption, taking numbers, figures and other data and turning them into bar graphs, line graphs, maps and bubbles.

Agriculture

Stanislaus County Crop Reports
Crops reports by decade, compiled by the Stanislaus County Agricultural Commissioner
Agricultural Statistics Annual
Published annually by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agriculture Statistics provides information on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns
Data and Statistics (USDA)
The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture
Census of Agriculture (USDA )
The Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States
Census of Agriculture Historical Archive
The USDA Census of Agriculture Historical Archive is a collaborative project between Albert R. Mann Library at Cornell University and the National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The site serves as a public archive of Census publications published prior to 1987. These publications are primarily scanned print material now available in PDF format

Criminal Justice

Uniform Crime Reporting
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program is the starting place for those seeking information on crime in the United States.
more...less...
Today, four annual publications, Crime in the United States, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and Hate Crime Statistics are produced from data received from over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily participating in the program. The crime data are submitted either through a state UCR Program or directly to the FBI’s UCR Program.

In addition to these reports, information is available on the Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (LEOKA) Program and the Hate Crime Statistics Program, as well as the traditional Summary Reporting System (SRS) and the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS).
California Crime Data
Crime statistics in California, from the State of California Department of Justics, Office of the Attorney General
Bureau of Justice Statistics
All data collections from the U.S. Department of Justice.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics - The Sourcebook contains statistics in the following areas: Criminal Justice Characteristics, Public Opinion, "Crime, Victims," "Arrests, Seizures," "Courts, Prosecution, Sentencing," and "Parole, Jails, Prisons, Death Penalty."

Demographics & Population

Population (United States Census Bureau)
National population data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
2010 Population Finder
From the U.S. Census Bureau, this site provides demographic profiles for states and areas within them
County and City Data Books
From the University of Virginia Librarythis resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books
Immigration Statistics
From the U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Statistical Abstracts Series
From the U.S. Census Bureau, links to historical abstracts.
Childstats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics
This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health

Economy & Business

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Find info on employment, unemployment, inflation, wages and more.
Economy at a Glance
Regional and state employment and wages from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Access GDP (gross domestic product) and other earnings and trade info nationally and by region and industry.
Economic Indicators
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics
California Economic Indicators
The California Economic Indicators page provides comprehensive information on the State and local labor markets. On this page you will find the most up-to-date labor force and unemployment data released by the Employment Development Department, as well as, economic indicators, analysis, and trends.
California Labor Market Information
The Labor Market Information Division (LMID) is the prime source of high quality and timely workforce and labor market information for the State of California. You can search by county.
Budget of the United States Government
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year
Economic Census
Conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, the Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy.
Consumer Price Index
Produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.

Education

Data & Statistics
From the California Department of Education, this site contains data and statistics collected from California schools and learning support resources to identify trends and educational needs and to measure performance
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Compiles stats from early childhood education through post-secondary education.
Fast Facts
This National Center for Education Statistics page provides quick statistical answers to basic questions about education, such as "Are American students performing better in reading now than in the past?" and "How many educational institutions exist in the U.S.?"
American Association of Community Colleges
This site offers a wide variety of information on community colleges, students, and faculty and staff.
Common Core of Data
A program of the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics, this site provides annual and national statistics for all public elementary and secondary schools, and school districts across the U.S. Data can be located under "Quick Facts", "Data", or by searching for a specific school or school district under "School/District Locator." Fiscal and Nonfiscal reports, and working papers can be located under "Publications"
Nation's Report Card
The Nation's Report Card presents the results of the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), which measures student achievement in the U.S. in various subjects over time.
Education (United States Census Bureau)
Data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Environment & Energy

MyEnvironment
This U.S. Environmental Protection Agency site allows you to search by zip, city or county for environmental information on air quality, water, and hazardous waste
Envirofacts Data Warehouse
From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, this site helps you find facts about air, water, land, waste, toxins, and radiation for specific areas
U.S. Energy Information Administration
The EIA provides independent analysis and statistics on energy use: petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear and alternative fuels (hydro power, solar, wind, geothermal, ethanol, etc.)
EarthTrends: Environmental Information
EarthTrends is a free on-line resource that highlights the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world. The site offers the public a comprehensive collection of vital statistics, maps, and graphics for more than 200 countries
Center for International Earth Science Information Network
CIESIN’s mission is to provide access to and enhance the use of information worldwide, advancing understanding of human interactions in the environment and serving the needs of science and public and private decision making
Environmental Health
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, this site provides an alphabetically-arranged list of environmental health topics

Health

National Center for Health Statistics
This division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention gathers statistics on all manner of health topics, from aging and birth rates to diseases and physical activity. The place to start looking for health statistics
State Health Facts
Data on demographics, health, health policy, financing, health coverage, access and state legislation; data sources are indicated. A project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
Statistics
From the California Department of Public Health, this site provides statistical and data tables
Diseases & Conditions
From the California Department of Public Health, this site provides links to information for communicable, infectious, and chronic diseases. Links include fact sheets and disease information provided by CDPH as well as external agencies, organizations, and groups
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Data and statistics for both diseases and other health conditions. Choose from a list of topics or use search box in upper right hand corner (for example, search on "valley fever statistics")
National Institutes of Health
Use the search box in the upper right hand side to search for statistics across 27 different types of health institutes. For example, search on "breast cancer statistics" or search on "obesity statistics."
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries; features county and local, state, individual, national, and global health data.
Data and Statistics
From the World Health Organization, data and analysis on health around the world arranged by topic
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Weekly reports providing analysis and hard statistics on fatal diseases and causes of death. Some articles in Adobe Acrobat format
Cancer Statistics
From the Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results of the National Cancer Institute
Childstats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics
This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health