Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Depending on which aspect of A Man Called Ove you have decided to research, the following terms may be useful to you.
In Gale eBooks and the library catalog, use broad terms such as:
- mustard gas
- civil disobedience Thoreau
In the larger databases (Gale and EBSCO) and Google / Google Scholar, try combining terms or using more specific terms:
- parental loss
- "mustard gas" lungs
- human echolocation
- hoarding disorder
- anarchy and Thoreau
Read Background Information
Gale eBooks is a great source for background information.
Click on one of the specific articles below, or try your own search terms in the link to the Gale eBooks at the bottom of the box.
If you're working from off campus, you may need to sign in with your MJC sign in credentials (the same as what you use for Canvas and email).
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
Find Focused Information in Library Databases
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.
Search using the Search Terms at the top of this guide, or use words more specific to your topic.
If you're working from off campus, and you're asked to sign in, just use the same sign in you use for email and Canvas.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Finding Information on the Web
Here is a sampling of substantive and scholarly articles found on the Web.
Remember that you must evaluate all sources you find on the Web for credibility.
Use Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to find scholarly information on the Web.
Evaluate the Credibility of Your Sources
eBooks @ MJC Library
Books are an excellent resource for in-depth information. Click on the titles of the books below to read them in your browser.
Print Books @ MJC Library
Visit the East Campus Library & Learning Center to borrow these books. You'll find them by their listed call numbers. Ask a staff member for help if needed.
For more books, including eBooks, search the library's catalog.
The Sibling Effect by
Call Number: BF 723.S43 K58 2011 (East Campus)
Publication Date: 2011
A senior writer at Time magazine explores what scientists and researchers are discovering about sibling bonds, the longest- lasting relationships we have in our lives.
Get Help from a Librarian
Research 101: Need More Research Help?
If you'd like much more in-depth instruction about the process of conducting research, please check out our guides:
Get Started with Library Research
Use this guide to become a more skillful researcher. Learn how to develop research questions, choose credible sources, evaluate your sources, cite them correctly, and avoid plagiarism
Your instructor should tell you which citation style they want you to use. Click on the appropriate link below to learn how to format your paper and cite your sources according to a particular style.