Skip to main content

World Civilization to the 16th Century (HIST 106)

Use this guide to help you with your research assignments in World Civilization to the 16th Century

Useful Keywords

Use the words below to search for useful information in books including eBooks and articles at the MJC Library.

Also be sure to refer to your assignment for useful search terms.

  • civilization history
  • world history (You can put a time period after a subject to focus it further, i.e., world history 15th century)
  • japan history (You can use whatever country or culture name followed by the word history)

Using & Finding Books

Why You Use Books:

Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. 

Where Do I Find Books?

Use WorldCat to discover books, eBooks, videos, and more for your research. Use the search bar below to begin your search:

 


For complete instructions on using WorldCat check out our WorldCat research guide.

Find Primary Sources

Add these words to the end of your search for resources on any topic to focus your search specifically on primary sources:

  • sources
  • correspondence
  • personal narratives
  • photographs
  • diaries

_______________________

For example: black death sources

Using Databases to Find Articles

Why Use Databases:

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, videos, and more from thousands of respected publications. You can search these databases either by topic or for a specific article.

Using the Library's article databases ensures that you're using sources your instructors expect you to use, and you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.

____________________________________

All of these resources are free for you because you are a student at MJC. If you're working from anywhere off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database simply enter your student ID and six-digit birth date.

 

Find Articles:

You can start with one of our Popular Research Starting Places databases that cover many different subjects, select a Database by Name from the alphabetically-arranged list, or browse Databases by Subject or Type from the drop-down menus.

Go to Articles & Databases (History Databases)

What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?

  • If you find materials in WorldCat that you need, but MJC does not own them, you can simply click the Request Item button in WorldCat to have that item sent to you here at MJC.
     
  • If, however, you need materials that you cannot find in WorldCat, you can request them through our interlibrary loan service.