Skip to main content

World Civilization to the 16th Century (HIST 106)

Use this guide to help you with your research assignments in World Civilization to the 16th Century

NoodleTools

NoodleTools


NoodleTools Help:

Cite Successfully

To cite sources successfully, it's crucial you have a clear understanding of:

  1. The TYPE of source you're using (magazine article vs. book vs. reference book article)
     
  2. The PLACE where you found that source (in print at the library vs. online via a database vs. online via a Web site). This is also known as FORMAT
     
  3. The source's full "bibliographic information" (authors/editors, title, edition, publisher, pages, etc.)

Chicago Style

What You Need to Know About Chicago Style:

Chicago style will affect your paper in three distinct places:

  1. The general format of the paper. This includes margins, font, page numbers, line spacing, titles, headings, etc.
     
  2. The bibliography. The bibliography is the cumulative list of all sources used in your research. In Chicago, this is called the Bibliography (if you're using the notes-bibliography system) or  Reference list (if you're using the author-date system). How do you cite a printed book vs. a book found on a database vs. a book found on the Web? 
     
  3. In-text citation. Citing sources within the body of your paper lets your reader know you're incorporating someone else's words/research/ideas. In the notes-bibliography system you'll use footnotes or endnotes for your in-text citations. In the author-date references system you'll use parenthetical citations for your in-text citations.

Here's what you need to know to complete your paper in Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) format.

The links below will take you to the Ready, Set, Cite (Chicago) research guide: