Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 101- Bento - Divisions in American Society: Home

Use this guide to get started on your research paper on divisions in American society today.

Home

Start Here!

The best place to start reading about your topic is to find the articles that are already assigned for this course. Several of the research paper topics are covered in the weeks AFTER Week 10, so scroll ahead in the course and read the article or articles your teacher has already selected on your topic.

Read background information

One of the best places to start a research project is with overview articles from specialized encyclopedias. That's what is in the Gale eBooks database.

Click on the Gale eBooks link below, and try searches using the search words listed in the box below.

Develop search words

image of a checklistIn Gale eBooks, use broad terms such as:

  • political polarization
  • racism
  • systemic racism
  • freedom of speech
  • economic inequality
  • baby boomers
  • millenial generation

In the larger databases (Gale Databases and EBSCOhost as well as Google and Google Scholar), try combining terms or using specific terms inside quotation marks:

  • racism and education
  • "safe spaces" speech
  • "social justice education"
  • "news media" polarization
  • "gender inequality" U.S.

Create questions to guide your research

Find focused information in library databases

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.

Search using the Search Words listed in this guide, or use words more specific to your topic.

The databases linked to below are good for general articles as well as Scholarly articles--see the videos in the box below!

Finding scholarly (academic) articles

Searching for Academic Articles in Gale Databases

Use EBSCOhost Databases to Find Academic Journal Articles

Using books

Use books to read both broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic.

Search for books in the library catalog using the search words you created, or click on the links provided in the Recommended Books boxes below.

Recommended eBooks @ MJC Library

Recommeded print books @ MJC Library

Related research guides

Use these MJC Library Research Guides to find more sources on the following topics:

How to get more help from the library

Chat With A Librarian

Meet with a Librarian

Meet with a librarian online using Zoom

We can schedule 30-minute appointments.

You can choose to work with a particular librarian or just choose anyone who is available at the time you need. Once you schedule your appointment, your librarian will contact you with the Zoom meeting information.

Click the Schedule Your Appointment button to begin.


Your Librarians:

Other Ways To Get Help

Can't Chat? Try these other ways to get help.

Libguides iconResearch guides created by librarians help you jump start your research.

 Text: (209) 710-5270
 
email icon Email: ask@mjc.libanswers.com

 

YouTube videos

 

How-To Videos

Citation Styles

Your instructor should tell you which citation style they want you to use. Click on the appropriate link below to learn how to format your paper and cite your sources according to a particular style.