Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The best place to start reading about your topic is to find the articles on cancel culture that are already assigned for this course in weeks 3 and 4.
This prompt has two parts--you'll need to think about both "what is cancel culture?" and "what is American society?" How do they intersect?
Begin with encyclopedias and websites
Read background information online
As defined for this course, "cancel culture refers to the popular practice of withdrawing support for public figures and companies after they have done or said something considered objectionable or offensive." There are some good overviews of cancel culture on credible websites. Some recommendations are below:
Develop search words
"Cancel Culture" is a fairly new term that isn't used widely used in library databases. Instead, use Gale eBooks to read about related terms such as:
- free speech
- political correctness
- doxing or doxxing
In the larger databases (Gale Databases and EBSCOhost as well as Google and Google Scholar), you can find many articles using the search term "cancel culture." You can also combine terms (using quotation marks to keep phrases together) to narrow your search, or use other more specific terms for particular types of cancelling:
- "free speech" social media
- "cancel culture"
Read background information in encyclopedias from library databases
Normally, one of the best places to start a research project is with overview articles from specialized encyclopedias. That's what is in the Gale eBooks database.
Click on the Gale eBooks link below, and try searches using the search words listed in the box above.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
This article from Gale eBooks can be helpful if you need help defining American society.
Other good sources for background information are the databases below:
Narrowing Your Topic
After you have done some background thinking and reading on cancel culture and American society, consider narrowing your focus. Is there a particular instance of cancelling you want to investigate? What aspect of American culture do you want to consider? Some possibilites include:
- Me Too movement
- Deplatforming of politicians
- boycotting brands or companies
- Politicians or celebrities who appeared in blackface
- Confederate monuments
- Renaming sports teams or schools
Find focused and/or scholarly information in library databases
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.
Search using the Search Words listed in this guide, or use words more specific to your topic.
The databases linked to below are good for general articles as well as Scholarly articles--see the videos in the box below!
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
How to find scholarly sources in library databases
Use the videos below to see how easy it is to find academic journal articles in two of our most used databases.
Use EBSCOhost Databases to Find Academic Journal Articles
Searching for Academic Articles in Gale Databases
Use books to read both broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic.
Search for books in the library catalog using the search words you created, or click on the links provided in the Recommended Books boxes below.
Recommended books @ MJC Library
Films from MJC streaming video databases
Canceled following a violent incident with his ex-wife, 42 Grams chef Jake Bickelhaupt moved to Denver for a fresh start. His past continues to haunt him as the cloud of cancel culture renders him paralyzed in his search for redemption.
Related research guides
Use these MJC Library Research Guides to find more sources and learn important research skills:
How to get more help from the library
Overview of the L&LC Website
How to Find eBooks in the Library Catalog
How to Work with a Librarian
Meet with a Librarian
Meet with a Librarian
There are two ways librarians can help you personally with your research.
- Drop-in Research Help: You don't need to make an appointment to meet with a librarian. Just walk into the Library & Learning Center on either East or West campus during our regular hours and a librarian will be at the Research Help desk to work with you.
- Online Research Appointments: Back by popular demand, we are also offering 30-minute online research appointments. To schedule an appointment, click on the button below. You can also choose to work with a particular librarian or just choose any one of us who is available at the time you need. Once you schedule your appointment, your librarian will contact you with your meeting information.
Other Ways To Get Help
Can't Chat? Try these other ways to get help