Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. You can also use books to find primary sources, which are often published together in collections.
You'll use the library catalog to search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.
If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.
Add these words to the end of your search for resources on any topic to focus your search specifically on primary sources:
_______________________
For example: french revolution sources
For more information and help with finding Primary Sources, check out our Find Primary Sources research guide.
The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, videos, and more from thousands of respected publications. You can search these databases either by topic or for a specific article.
Using the Library's article databases ensures that you're using sources your instructors expect you to use, and you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.
| All of these resources are free for you because you are a student at MJC. If you're working from anywhere off campus, you'll need to sign in just like you do for your MJC email or Canvas courses. |
Use one of the databases below to help you explore your group more fully.
Why search here? This is one of our History Research Center databases that spans our nation’s history from prehistory to the present day.
What's included: Primary sources, articles, images, timelines, videos, and slideshows
Why search here? Use this database to find information on U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present.
What's included: Academic journals, magazines, books, conference papers, and dissertations
Why search here? This is one of our History Research Center databases that provides access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups.
What's included: Primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, maps and graphs, and timelines.
What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?
If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the MJC Library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.