Research Guides: Administration of Justice Research Basics: Find Articles

Article Databases vs. Free Web

Simply put, databases were created to help you find credible information easily and quickly. Learn more about the difference between using article databases and the free Web in this short video below:

Get Help Connecting from Off Campus

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, and staff.

Why Login

Although the MJC Library would like to offer open access to all of our research resources, license agreements with the publishers of our databases and eBooks require that only MJC students, faculty, and staff be given off-campus access to these resources.

How to Login

Once you click on the name of a database, you login just like you do for your MJC email or Canvas courses.

Troubleshooting

If you have trouble connecting to one of our databases, first make sure you have Cookies enabled on your Web browser.
If you have problems connecting to databases that you could previously, make sure you have cleared your Cookies, History, and Temporary Internet Files.

Questions?

Get help at Ask a Librarian

Using Databases to Find Articles

Why Use Databases:

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, videos, and more from thousands of respected publications. You can search these databases either by topic or for a specific article.

Using the Library's article databases ensures that you're using sources your instructors expect you to use, and you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.

Find Articles:

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications.

Best Bets for You:

CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Use this database when you want to find comprehensive, unbiased reporting and analysis to get background information on issues in the news.
What's included: Overview reports of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find credible sources for topics in law, political science, and business. This is your source for law review articles and court cases.
Nexis Uni includes:
• Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts,
newswires and blogs
• Local, regional, national and international newspapers
with deep archives
• Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and
statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions
since 1790
• Unparalleled business information on more than
80 million U.S. and international companies and more
than 75 million executives

View online tutorials here
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search 29 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.