The first Earth Day on April 22, 1970 is widely credited with launching the modern environmental movement. Growing out of the first Earth Day, Earth Day Network works in 192 countries to broaden, diversify and mobilize the environmental movement. More than 1 billion people now participate in Earth Day activities each year, making it the largest civic observance in the world.
Earth Day 2024 will be celebrated on Monday, April 22.
For help with in-depth research on climate change, see our Climate Change guide.
Other related guides:
To access eBooks from off-campus, you'll need to log in using the same credentials you use for email or Canvas.
The New Climate War: the fight to take back our planet by 
How to Avoid a Climate Disaster: the solutions we have and the breakthroughs we need by 
How to Think about the Climate Crisis: a philosophical guide to saner ways of living by 
Environmental Racism in the United States and Canada: seeking justice and sustainablilty by 
The Ecocentrists: a history of radical environmentalism by Use these library databases to explore topics on the environment.
From off campus you'll need to log in using your MJC ID # without the W and your six-digit birthdate.
Why search here? Use this database to study the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched and accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. It draws on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, and what can be done at each level to minimize the effects.
What's included: GreenFILE is comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. The initial release includes more than 600 titles, dating back to 1913, and provides the full text from open access titles.
Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
Why search here? Search 22 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.