National Poetry Month, held each April, is a month-long, national celebration of poetry established by the Academy of American Poets. The concept is to widen the attention of individuals and the media—to the art of poetry, to living poets, to our complex poetic heritage, and to poetry books and journals of wide aesthetic range and concern.
Enjoy one of these poetry collections available at the MJC Library.
More Than Soil, More Than Sky: the Modesto Poets by 
Ink Knows No Borders: Poems of the Immigrant and Refugee Experience by 
Every Thing on It by 
The Best of It by Use these eBooks wherever you are and whenever you need.
From off campus you'll need to log in using your MJC ID # without the W and your six-digit birth date.
U.S. Poet Laureate 2008-2010
First National Youth Poet Laureate of the United States 2017
Blanco reads at the 2013 Presidential Inauguration
Poet, Politician, and Diplomat
American Poet and Activist
MJC Professor of English, Poet Laureate for the City of Modesto (2004-2008) and "Ninjapoet."
U.S. Poet Laureate 1993-1995 reads "American Smooth"
American Poet, Bob Hicok, reads his poem, "Calling him back from layoff"
Naomi Shihab Nye Reads Two Poems
Use these library databases to explore topics on poetry and poets.
From off campus you'll need to log in using your MJC ID # without the W and your six-digit birthdate.
Why search here? Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can use this database.
What's included: Gale Literature together all of Gale's literary databases into one cross-searchable research and study environment. You'll be able to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and expertly written work overviews.
Why search here? This is a great database to use when you need to find information about a person.
What's included: This Gale database includes more than 500,000 individuals from throughout history and from around the world.
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? Search 22 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
