Research Guides: Women's History Month: Explore Women's History

Why Women's History Month?

In 1987, Congress declared March as National Women's History Month in perpetuity. A special Presidential Proclamation is issued every year that honors the extraordinary achievements of American women.

Executive Branch Proclamations
From the Library of Congress, you'll find links to the Presidential Proclamations for "Women’s History Week" or "Women’s History Month" beginning with 1986 along with the citations to the Code of Federal Regulations or the Federal Register, the official publications for Presidential Proclamations.

Featured Library eBooks

Here are a few examples of books from our library that you could use to research topics in women's history.

Her Story

Bessie Coleman (January 26, 1892 – April 30, 1926), American Aviator

Dolores Huerta (b.1930), American labor leader

Dorothea Lange (1895-1965), photographer

Sojourner Truth (1797-1843), abolitionist and women's rights activist

Sally Ride (1951-2012), physicist and astronaut

Rachel Carson (1907-1964), marine biologist, author, and conservationist

Mary Church Terrell (1863-1954), Educator, Writer, Civil Rights Activist

Articles on Women's History and Women's History Month

Use these library databases to explore topics on women's history.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This is a great database to use when you need to find information about a person.This Gale database includes more than 500,000 individuals from throughout history and from around the world.

Women's History Special Report
From NewsBank, this special report brings together articles, background data, images, Web sites, and more on women's history worldwide. You'll also find a list of recommended search topics to help you focus your research.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly articles on U.S. and Canadian history. It provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books in addition to selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present.
Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Use this database when you want topical, in-depth coverage of world history from antiquity to the present. Read about the background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for the major topics in history from every region of the world. This is a great database for finding primary sources.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.

Women's History Month: Explore Women's History

Explore Women's History