Research Guides: Find Sources: Explore Your Topic

Start Here

Background Reading Databases

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
eBook Collection: EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search our collection of thousands of eBooks the MJC Library owns through EBSCOhost.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This is a great database to use when you want to explore different viewpoints on controversial or hot-button issues. It includes reports on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Use the search or browse topics by subject or A to Z.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
This is the resource for finding original, comprehensive reporting and analysis to get background information on issues in the news. It provides overviews of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America.

Move to In-Depth Analysis

Multi-Subject Databases

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Use this database when you want to explore your topic from a global perspective or to analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world with a global awareness. You'll find news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.

To see all of our databases, click the link below:

Articles & Databases @MJC

Questions About Databases?

How to Use Databases

Connect From Off-Campus

All databases are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff. Simply login like you do for Canvas or Email.

Troubleshooting:

If you have trouble connecting to one of our databases, first make sure you have Cookies enabled on your Web browser.

If you have problems connecting to databases that you could previously, make sure you have cleared your Cookies, History, and Temporary Internet Files.

What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?

If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.

OneSearch (Library Catalog)
OnsSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
Interlibrary Loan
Borrowing materials from other libraries is simple and free.

Find Sources: Explore Your Topic

Explore Your Topic

MJC Library Catalog Search