It's important to begin your research learning something about your subject; in fact, you won't be able to create a focused, manageable thesis unless you already know something about your topic.
Use the words below to search for useful information in books and articles.
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.
Why search here? Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
What's included: Gale eBooks is comprised of subject, specialized encyclopedias with articles written by scholars and experts.
Why search here? Use this database when you want to explore your topic from a global perspective or to analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world with a global awareness.
What's included: You'll find news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
Why search here? Use this database when you want to find comprehensive, unbiased reporting and analysis to get background information on issues in the news.
What's included: Overview reports of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America.
Why search here? This is a great database to use when you want to explore different viewpoints on controversial or hot-button issues.
What's included: It includes pro/con articles, court cases, primary sources, videos, media, editorials, and news on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Use the search or browse topics by subject or A to Z.
Research is all about exploration. Sometimes we are exploring ideas, sometimes we are exploring current issues, sometimes we are exploring the lives of people or the repercussions of events. Asking questions is the key to this exploration.
When you are ready to explore and answer your research questions, use these databases below.
Why search here? When you want to find broad coverage on almost any topic you need to research at MJC, use Gale databases to search over 35 databases simultaneously.
What's included: Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Why search here? Search 22 databases at the same time that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. This is a good resource to use when you want to delve deeper into your subject.
What's included: EBSCO databases include articles previously published in academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
The Cost of Being Female
For the Family? How Class and Gender Shape Women's Work
Earning More and Getting Less
Working Women in the U. S.
Women in AmericaThese videos come from an MJC Library Database named, Films on Demand. Once you click the image, you'll need to login just like you do for all of our other databases.
Breaking the Wall of Gender Inequality: How Gender Balance Can Transform the Global Economy
This video explores why gender equality will be a key condition for sustainable development – and how it can prepare the global economy for a more human-centered growth.
Gender Wage Gap: Supply & Demand
Research by the Cato Institute explodes the myth of the gender wage gap. The findings showed that overall male median income exceeds women's because many men work at jobs women will not or cannot do. An ABC News Production.
The Trouble with Working Women: An Inquiry Into Inequity Between the Sexes
This is a two-video series by the BBC that explores women's success and earnings potential.
In addition, search Google Scholar to find scholarly information on the Web.
Your instructor should tell you which citation style they want you to use. Click on the appropriate link below to learn how to format your paper and cite your sources according to a particular style.
Phone:
Text: (209) 710-5270
