It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENGL 103 - Miranda - Affirmative Action: Home
Use this guide to begin your research for your essay on Fisher v. University of Texas
Use Google Scholar to find scholarly information on the Web.
Using & Finding Books
Why Use Books:
Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. You can also use books to find primary sources, which are often published together in collections.
Where Do I Find Books?
You'll use the library catalog to search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.
What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?
Unfortunately, during the COVID-19 emergency, we are unable to process requests for materials from other libraries. We'll have this service up and running again as soon as campus opens and we're fully operational.
Can institutional policies-or racial quotas, as some affirmative action opponents call them-remedy the historical mistreatment of African Americans without impinging on the prospects of white citizens? In anticipation of the U.S. Supreme Court's Gratz v. Bollinger and Grutter v. Bollinger decisions, this NBC News program explored the legal, racial, and socioeconomic issues behind those historic affirmative action cases.
When used as a factor in college admissions, affirmative action aims to foster diversity on campus and provide equal opportunities to people from certain minority groups. But is affirmative action achieving these goals and helping those it was designed to assist? Critics point to students struggling to keep up in schools mismatched to their abilities. But defenders claim that it is still necessary to ensure a diverse student body and combat the legacies of racism and discrimination. Does affirmative action on campus do more harm than good?
Find more background information videos in the MJC Library video database:
Two contemporary philosophers in sharp opposition, debate the value of affirmative action and racial preference. They defend thier views with analysis and commentay on landmark cases - including the decisions of the United States Supreme Court.
In 1995 the Board of Regents voted to end affirmative action at the University of California. One year later the electorate voted to do the same across the state of California. Silence at Boalt Hall is the thirty-year story of students, faculty, and administrators struggling with the politics of race in higher education.
LegalTrac® contains the full text of law-related articles from over 1,000 business and general interest titles. In addition, LegalTrac® provides indexing (not full text) for more than 1,400 titles drawing on a wide variety of the most highly-regarded legal publications, including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals
Use this database to find credible sources for topics in law, political science, and business. This is your source for law review articles and court cases.
Nexis Uni includes:
• Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts,
newswires and blogs
• Local, regional, national and international newspapers
with deep archives
• Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and
statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions
• Unparalleled business information on more than
80 million U.S. and international companies and more
than 75 million executives
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Ask a Librarian_Old
Getting help has never been easier. Your MJC librarians are here to help.
Use this guide to become a more skillful researcher. Learn how to develop research questions, choose credible sources, evaluate your sources, cite them correctly, and avoid plagiarism
Your instructor should tell you which citation style he or she wants you to use. Click on the appropriate link below to learn how to format your paper and cite your sources according to a particular style.