Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Depending on which aspect of Stillwater you have decided to research, the following terms may be useful to you. To get started, try entering these terms in the Gale eBooks database (see below):
- Underground Railroad
- Munchausen syndrome
- Fraternal twins
- Civil War
- Catholic Church Minnesota
- Fur trade
Read background information
Gale eBooks is a great database for background information.
Click on one of the specific articles/searches below, or try your own search terms in the link to the Gale eBooks at the bottom of the box.
Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
Finding information on the Web
Here is a sampling of substantive articles found on the Web. Be sure to use the CRAAP test to carefully evaluate all sources found on the Web.
Find focused information in library databases
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.
Search using the Key Search Words at the top of this guide, or use words more specific to your topic.
If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database, simply enter your student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birth date.
America: History and Life with Full Text
This database is an important reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. It provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books in addition to selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present.
American Indian Experience
The American Indian Experience includes in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America from pre-contact to the colonial era into the 21st century. You'll find primary documents, articles, reference sources, videos, and more.
African American Experience
This database uses primary documents, articles, reference sources, videos, and more to explore themes such as history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, the struggle for civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and more from their African origins to the present day.
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Books are an excellent resource for historical topics. Below are a selection of eBooks available at the MJC Library. For more books, search the MJC Library catalog.
Research 101: Need More Research Help?
If you'd like much more in-depth instruction about the process of conducting research, please check out our guides:
Get Started with Library Research
Use this guide to become a more skillful researcher. Learn how to develop research questions, choose credible sources, evaluate your sources, cite them correctly, and avoid plagiarism
Your instructor should tell you which citation style he or she wants you to use. Click on the appropriate link below to learn how to format your paper and cite your sources according to a particular style.