Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using & Finding Books
Why Use Books:
Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. You can also use books to find primary sources, which are often published together in collections.
Where Do I Find Books?
You'll use the library catalog to search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.
What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?
|Unfortunately, during the COVID-19 emergency, we are unable to process requests for materials from other libraries. We'll have this service up and running again as soon as campus opens and we're fully operational.
If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.
Finding poetry on the web
Use reference books to find short fiction and poetry
Short Stories for Students
Call Number: REF PN 3373 .S3844
Use the Subject/Theme index to identify stories on your topic, and then find the stories themselves using the library catalog.
Poetry for Students
Call Number: REF PN 1101 .P756
Use the Subject/Theme index to identify poems on your topic, and then find the poems themselves using the library catalog.
Choosing the correct search terms helps you locate the sources you need.
Examples of broad search terms to use in databases like Gale eBooks:
Examples of more specific search terms to use in larger databases like Gale, EBSCO, and the library's catalog:
- Homelessness studies
- Immigration California
- Technology benefits
Find articles in library databases
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff.
Search using the Key Search Words in the left hand column of this guide, or use words more specific to your topic.
If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in.
Find streaming films in library databases
Kanopy is a video streaming database with a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers.
Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students.
Films on Demand
Use Films on Demand when you want educational video content. This streaming video collection contains unlimited, 24/7 access to thousands of videos. Teachers can embed videos in Canvas. In addition, there are mobile options for iPad and Android.
Ask a Librarian_Old
Getting help has never been easier. Your MJC librarians are here to help.
Create accurate citations with Noodletools