Home - ENGL 100 - Intensive Reading, Writing, & Reasoning - Herold - Research Guides at Modesto Junior College Library

Your Assignment

Essay 3 (Text to Text)

doesn't require outside sources but recommends including one
based on theory from their book: Anne K. Mellor's "Frankenstein: A Feminist Critique of Science, Freud's "The Uncanny," Judith Halberstam's "Parasites and Perverts: An Introduction to Goth Monstrosity," or Jefferey Jerome Cohen "Monster Culture (Seven Theses)
will also have to include any other reading they have used this semester from their textbooks, both are titled Monsters and are available on reserve in the East Campus library

Essay 4 (Text to Texts; aka Research Paper)

final research paper
8-10 pages
requires reliable, academic sources (at least one must be from an academic journal)
based on a novel they are reading from their book club, which may include: Stephen King's Carrie, Max Brooks's World War Z, or Robert Louis Stevenson's Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde,. Bram Stoker's Dracula, Oscar Wilde's The Picture of Dorian Gray, or Mary Shelley's Frankenstein.

Step One: Familiarize Yourself With Your Chosen Theory/Texts

Begin your project by doing some background reading on your topic. Preliminary reading helps you:

achieve a basic understanding of your theory
begin to identify interesting specific questions that will form the backbone of your research; and
start to acquire vital search terms you need in order to explore your subject more fully.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.

Encyclopedia of the Zombie by June Michele Pulliam (Editor); Anthony J. Fonseca (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781440803888
Publication Date: 2014-06-19
Gothic Literature by Jessica Bomarito
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780787694708
Publication Date: 2006-01-11
Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology by Leslie A. Shepard; J. Gordon Melton (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780810385702
Publication Date: 2000-10-01

Step Two: Find, Read, and Reflect on Your Sources

Find sources on the topics that you identified in Step 1.

Do a comprehensive search utilizing all the sources below; leave no stone unturned
Print/save/email the sources you find as you go to avoid backtracking
Read your sources several times, highlighting relevant information and making notes as you go.
If you find sources that will help others in your team, SHARE THEM.
If you have trouble finding the appropriate type or number of sources: MEET WITH A RESEARCH LIBRARIAN

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Formally known as Gale Literary Sources, this database brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and expertly written work overviews.
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for hundreds of thousands of plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary short stories, author interviews, classic texts and much more from major respected reference works, books, literary journals, and original content from EBSCO Publishing

Step Three: Start Writing a Draft

Make an appointment with writing center staff at least once. They will help you get started, proceed, and/or finish. This is a free service that you should always utilize to maximize your success.
Utilize the MJC Library & Learning Center's FORMAT & CITE page to aid with MLA. A research librarian can provide face-to-face assistance with formatting and citing as well.