Skip to main content

Use of Databases: Home

Use of research databases is governed by license agreements. Find out what you can and cannot legally do with our databases.

Databases provided by the MJC Library & Learning Centers are intended for noncommercial, educational,  or personal research purposes only. Commercial use of licensed materials is prohibited. Violation of this prohibition can result in loss of access for the entire campus.

 
When using licensed electronic resources, users must:
  • limit uses to non-commercial, educational, or personal research purposes
  • not compile data/information found in a licensed resource into a separate database for public use
  • not facilitate unauthorized access by others (i.e.., do not share your MJC login credentials with others)
  • not engage in systematic downloading of licensed content (e.g.., downloading entire issues of electronic journals or large-scale downloading from databases to create other collections of data)
  • comply with license terms associated with specific resources (note: in many cases, license agreements impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law)
  • not distribute copies of material to individuals or groups outside the MJC community, unless the license for the resource specifically allows it
  • give proper attribution when quoting from material

 

Notes to faculty:
  1. Many licenses restrict the downloading and posting of licensed content on another server, even for use in course-related Web sites or course reserves systems. In general, it is preferable to use persistent links to the electronic articles rather than to download and store articles on servers.
  2. Most content providers consider data-mining or auto-crawling of their content as an inappropriate use. If you are planning a project that requires data-mining or auto-crawling of any library database, please contact your library liaison to obtain permission before starting such activity.
 
Questions?:

Call (209) 575-6230 or email ask@mjc.libanswers.com