Skip to main content

READ184: Hawes Modified Annotated Bib: Home

For students doing research in Sarah Hawes' READ184 class

Your Assignment

Making a modified annotated bibliography in MLA format. 

Step One: Familiarize Yourself With Your Chosen Topic

Begin your project by doing some background reading on your topic. Preliminary reading helps you:

  • achieve a basic understanding of your issue
  • begin to identify interesting specific questions that will form the backbone of your research; and
  • start to acquire vital search terms you need in order to explore your subject more fully. 
Google Web Search

Step Two: Find, Read, and Reflect on Your Sources

Find sources on the topics that you identified in Step 1.

  • Do a comprehensive search utilizing all the sources below; leave no stone unturned
  • Print/save/email the sources you find as you go to avoid backtracking
  • Read your sources several times, highlighting relevant information and making notes as you go.
  • If you find sources that will help others in your team, SHARE THEM.
  • If you have trouble finding the appropriate type or number of sources: MEET WITH A RESEARCH LIBRARIAN

Step Three: Write Your Annotated Bibliography

  • Make an appointment with writing center staff at least once. They will help you get started, proceed, and/or finish. This is a free service that you should always utilize to maximize your success.
  • Utilize the MJC Library & Learning Center's FORMAT & CITE page to aid with MLA. A research librarian can provide face-to-face assistance with formatting and citing as well. 

Ask a Librarian

Getting help has never been easier. Your MJC librarians are here to help.

 

 Call: East (209) 575-6230 / West (209) 575-6949

 Text: (209) 710-5270
 Email (ask@mjc.libanswers.com)

Visit Us

 

Research Help Drop-In
(See our hours)

YouTube videos

 

How-To Videos

Popular, Substantive, Scholarly Information

Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources you have used in the preparation of your research paper. Depending on your project or the assignment, in your annotations you may summarize, reflect on, or assess your sources. Your teacher should instruct you on the function of your annotations.

To learn more about annotated bibliographies click on the link below from Purdue OWL:

______________________________

Example of an Annotated Bibliography: (Click the paper to see the full bibliography)