This is the "Home" page of the "Debate Resolution 2012-2013: Organic and/or Sustainable Agriculture (SPCOM 107 - Guy)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Debate Resolution 2012-2013: Organic and/or Sustainable Agriculture (SPCOM 107 - Guy)   Tags: agriculture, farming, guy, organic_farming, sustainable_agriculture  

This guide is intended to help students in Todd Guy's Speech Communication 107 class with their Lincoln-Douglas debate research.
Last Updated: Jan 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mjc.edu/debate2012-13 Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Key Search Terms

Use the words below to search for useful information.

  • sustainable agriculture
  • alternative agriculture
  • permaculture
  • organic farming
  • natural foods
 

Get Help from MJC Librarians

Getting help has never been easier.

Chat
call us Call us: (209) 575-6230
Text us TXT us: (209) 710-5270
twitter Tweet us
email us Email us
In person help

In Person Help: 

Library & Learning Center - East
Yosemite 235 - West

Library Q&A

Get Help When We're Closed:

  Use our Library Q & A 24/7 service

Research 101

If you'd like much more in-depth instruction about the process of conducting research, please check out our guides:

  • Ready, Set, Research
    This guide is geared toward students who need to prepare research papers and/or speeches for college courses
  • Research Help
    Use this guide to become a more skillful researcher. Learn how to develop research questions, choose credible sources, evaluate your sources, cite them correctly, and avoid plagiarism
 

Professor Guy's Handouts

 

Resolution

Resolved: The United States Federal Government should substantially increase assistance for organic and/or sustainable agriculture in the United States.

You can use several of the questions below to focus your research.

  • What is organic agriculture?
  • What is sustainable agriculture?
  • Why do farmers need assistance from the USFG?
  • What assistance does the federal government currently provide?
  • Are there laws regarding agricultural assistance?
  • What are the arguments for the USFG providing assistance for organic and/or sustainable agriculture?
  • What are the arguments against the USFG providing assistance for organic and/or sustainable agriculture? 

This resolution contains three components that need to remain in focus as you construct your argument.

  1. USFG: Remember this resolution deals with the United Sates Federal Government. While state and local policies can be used to bolster your argument, you need to come back to how this should be handled at the national level.
  2. Substantially increase assistance: You will want to look at what the government is currently doing regarding these types of agriculture. Think, too, of the different ways the government might provide assistance such as tax breaks, preferential purchasing, tariffs, etc.
  3. Organic and/or sustainable agriculture: This is the crux of the resolution. You will need to know how these types of agriculture are defined by the government and possibly how they are defined by others. Keep in mind that these are two different types of agriculture.

Start by Reading Topic Overviews

The list below includes books you'll find in the library and online.

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff. If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database, simply enter your student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birth date.

Featured Article & Research Databases

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, & staff. If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database, simply enter your student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birth date.

  • Gale Databases
    Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets
  • EBSCO Databases
    Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets
  • Facts on File Databases
    Facts on File databases include: Issues & Controversies, Issues & Controversies in American History, Today's Science, and World News Digest
  • CQ Researcher Online
    Overviews of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America. This is the resource for finding original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news
  • Access World News (NewsBank)
    Search the full text of editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. Your source for The Modesto Bee for local and regional news from January 1989 to the present. Also includes in-depth special reports and hot topics from around the country that are useful for brainstorming research topics for your paper or project

Meet Your Librarian

Profile Image
Ellen Dambrosio
Contact Info
Modesto Junior College Library
435 College Ave.
Modesto CA 95350-5808
209.575.6254
Send Email
 

Books @ the MJC Library

Using the key search terms in this guide, search the MJC Library Catalog to find books, DVDs, CDs, eBooks, and more that the MJC Library owns.

To access eBooks if you're off campus, you'll need to log in using your MJC student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birth date.

Search Google Scholar

Cite Your Sources

Click on a citation style link below to learn how to cite your sources using that style.

  • MLA Style
    MLA is most often used by the Humanities, which includes languages, literature, philosophy, visual & performing arts
  • APA Style
    APA style is most often used by students and writers in the Social Sciences, including Anthropology, Communications, Economics, History, Political Science, and Psychology
  • Chicago Style
    The Chicago Manual of Style is a comprehensive reference for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers in any field, though most often used in the humanities
  • Other Styles
    Resources for citing in several subject-specific citation formats
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip