This is the "Newspapers at the MJC Library" page of the "News & Newspapers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

News & Newspapers   Tags: current_events, journalism, media, news, newspapers  

Use newspapers to find the latest news, research a topic about our area, track current debates, or do historical research
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.mjc.edu/Newspapers Print Guide RSS Updates

Newspapers at the MJC Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Newspapers in the Library

The MJC Library subscribes to several newspapers in print. You can find current issues of these on the newspaper rack in the Library for your reading pleasure. Except for the most recent edition, you can check newspapers out to take with you. We keep print copies of each issue for six months and have have The Modesto Bee and The New York Times on microfilm dating back to the early 1900s.

The Library subscribes to many more newspapers electronically through our article databases.

News Coverage in Article Databases

Library article databases provide you with complete articles from numerous publications for free.

To connect to article databases from off campus you'll need to enter your student ID number and your six-digit birth date.

If you need help connecting or learning how to use specific article databases, check out the Get Help tab across the top of this guide.

  • Access World News (NewsBank)
    Search the full text of editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. Your source for The Modesto Bee for local and regional news from January 1989 to the present. Also includes in-depth special reports and hot topics from around the country that are useful for brainstorming research topics for your paper or project
  • World News Digest
    Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940 to the present and is updated weekly
  • Gale Databases
    Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets
  • CountryWatch
    This database provides political, geographic, economic, and business information for the countries of the world. In addition to the comprehensive country reports, use the CountryWire feature to read daily news coverage for all countries and up-to-date articles from regional news wire services across the globe
 

Journal Finder

Use Journal Finder to find out if the MJC Library subscribes to your newspaper, journal, or magazine. Simply enter your publication title in the search box below to find out if the MJC library subscribes to it either in print or in one of our article databases.

 


If we subscribe in print, you will find the current issues on the magazine shelves in the library and the older issues at the Reserve Desk. If we subscribe to your publication via one of our article databases, you just click on the database name to connect to that database and get your article.

If the MJC Library doesn't subscribe to your newspaper either in print or electronically, don't worry; we can have articles sent to you here from another library. This service is called, Interlibrary Loan, and it allows us to locate and get copies of library materials sent  here from other libraries around the country or around the world for you to check out and return here. You can find out more about this service and complete a request form on the Library's Web site.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip