Many students turn to Wikipedia for their initial exploration of a topic. That is fine, but be sure to augment your background research with sources you can actually include on an academic bibliography.
International Encyclopedia of DanceUse books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. You can also use books to find primary sources, which are often published together in collections.
You'll use the library catalog to search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.
If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.
Why Use Databases?
The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications.
Using the Library's article databases ensures that you're using the academically-appropriate sources your instructors expect you to use. Also, you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.
________________________
Top Picks:
All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, and staff.
If you're working from off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database, simply enter your student ID (without the W) and your six-digit birthdate.
Videos:
________________________
|
Films on Demand is a streaming video collection that contains unlimited, 24/7 access to thousands of videos on many topics, including dance. |
Kanopy is a video streaming database for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. |
This is a multidisciplinary collection of videos from Alexander Street Press that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Thousands of titles are available from over 500 producers and distributors around the world. |
Article Databases:
________________________
