Research Guides: Career Exploration: Find Articles

Search for Articles on Your Topic in Research Databases

It is likely that you will find enough information in our collections of books, reference books, and eBooks to satisfy your information needs. If, however, you wish to search for newspaper, magazine, or journal articles on your career, you might try the following:

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Search 22 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. EBSCO databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Use Films on Demand when you want educational video content. This streaming video collection contains unlimited, 24/7 access to thousands of videos. Teachers can embed videos in Canvas. In addition, there are mobile options for iPad and Android.
Instructions for embedding Films on Demand into Canvas.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
Search over 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Gale databases include articles previously published in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and other media outlets.
Vocations & Careers Collection This link opens in a new window
Use this database for career and industry information.This small Gale collection provides content from general career guides to highly-specialized industry journals.

Get Help Connecting from Off Campus

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, and staff.

Why Login

Although the MJC Library would like to offer open access to all of our research resources, license agreements with the publishers of our databases and eBooks require that only MJC students, faculty, and staff be given off-campus access to these resources.

How to Login

Once you click on the name of a database, you login just like you do for your MJC email or Canvas courses.

Troubleshooting

If you have trouble connecting to one of our databases, first make sure you have Cookies enabled on your Web browser.
If you have problems connecting to databases that you could previously, make sure you have cleared your Cookies, History, and Temporary Internet Files.

Questions?

Get help at Ask a Librarian