Research Guides: Science: Find Articles

Meet Your Librarian

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

Need help now? We have Research Drop-In Hours Monday - Saturday during Spring 2024: Go to the Ask a Librarian page to get immediate help.

My Research Help Schedule (In Person, West Campus L & LC. and Online Chat)
Mon - Weds 10-5 PM
Thurs - Fri: Call (2090575-6245) or email me at beratliss@yosemite.edu

Zoom Appointments Times vary. To see when I'm available and to schedule an appointment with me, simply click on the "Schedule Appointment" button above, then pick your date/time. If you do not see a day/time that works, please email me and we can arrange another time.

209-575-6245

Subjects: Biography, Celebrations & Events, Citing Sources, Countries & Cultures, Faculty Guides, Hot Topics & News, Library How-to, Nursing & Health, Research Tips, Science & Technology, Statistics

Science Databases

These research databases are science-specific. For many topics you should also consider searching broader databases, such as those in the box below this one.

General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Use this Gale collection to find current information with the latest developments in hundreds of scientific topics. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
This collection of nearly 100 full-text journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Today's Science This link opens in a new window
Original reports explaining important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. Click on the Topic Index to select a topic to begin exploring.

General Databases with Science Articles

These broad-based databases include lots of information on science topics.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a comprehensive database that includes academic, peer-reviewed journal articles in many different subject areas.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.

All of these resources are free for MJC students, faculty, and staff.

Why Login

Although the MJC Library would like to offer open access to all of our research resources, license agreements with the publishers of our databases and eBooks require that only MJC students, faculty, and staff be given off-campus access to these resources.

How to Login

Once you click on the name of a database, you login just like you do for your MJC email or Canvas courses.

Troubleshooting

If you have trouble connecting to one of our databases, first make sure you have Cookies enabled on your Web browser.
If you have problems connecting to databases that you could previously, make sure you have cleared your Cookies, History, and Temporary Internet Files.

Questions?

Get help at Ask a Librarian