Skip to main content

ANTHR 130 - Kerr

Use this guide to find reliable information for your research in Susan Kerr's class

Useful Search Terms

Use the subject terms below to search for relevant information you'll need to complete your archaeological culture research report.

  • archaeology
  • excavations archaeology
  • excavations archaeology africa
  • middle east antiquities
  • africa antiquities
  • south america antiquities
  • north america antiquities
  • east asia archaeology
  • north america archaeology
  • africa civilization
  • china civilization
  • You can also use the name of your civilization. For example, Kush or Maya, for finding specific information.

Using & Finding Books

Why Use Books?

Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic.

How Do I Search for Books?

Use WorldCat (World Catalog) to search for books, articles, media, and more that we have at MJC and to find out where they're located. WorldCat will also show you materials you can get from other libraries. For complete instructions check out our WorldCat research guide.

______________

Useful Books Database:

You can also use our database, Gale Virtual Reference Library, to find electronic reference books filled with scholarly information on a wide variety of topics.

Use Databases to Find Articles

Why Use Databases?

The MJC Library subscribes to many databases filled with authoritative articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications.

Using the Library's article databases ensures that you're using the academically-appropriate sources your instructors expect you to use. Also, you won't have to cull through millions of unrelated Web pages that will waste your time and energy.

How Do I Use Databases?

To search for articles on your topic start by using one of the article databases listed below.

You can search these article databases either by topic or for a specific article.

All of these resources are free for you because you are a student at MJC. If you're working from anywhere off campus, you'll need to sign in. Once you click on the name of a database simply enter your student ID and six-digit birth date.

Search Google Scholar

Use Google to find scholarly literature available on the web.

Did you know you can:

  • Find court opinions using Google Scholar,
  • Search by author or title,
  • Sort by date, and more.

Learn more about Google Scholar at Google Scholar Search Tips.