Research Guides: Get Started With Research: Find Books & eBooks

How Are Books Organized?

Library Materials Are Arranged by Subject:

All the materials in the library are arranged by subject. Like other academic libraries, we use the Library of Congress Classification System to assign call numbers to our materials so that books and other materials on similar topics are next to each other on the shelves.

Call Numbers:

You need to know a book's call number in order to get it off the shelf in the library. Call numbers are a book's address on the shelves; they tell you the subject of the book and make sure that books on the same subject are shelved together.

For More Information, Check Out the Links Below:

Library of Congress Classification System
By using the Library of Congress Classification System, we ensure that books about similar topics are next to each other on the shelves. This chart gives you a quick overview of the classification system.

Using & Finding Books

Why Use Books:

Use books to read broad overviews and detailed discussions of your topic. You can also use books to find primary sources, which are often published together in collections.

Where Do I Find Books?

You'll use the library catalog to search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.

What if MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?

If you need materials (books, articles, recordings, videos, etc.) that you cannot find in the library catalog, use our interlibrary loan service.

Finding eBooks

If you need a book when the library is closed, no worries. The MJC Library owns thousands of eBooks that you can use at any time of the day or night.

Here is a little video showing you how to find eBooks @MJC:

Where to Find eBooks

You'll find eBooks in the MJC Library Catalog on the Library & Learning Center homepage, and
in some of our library databases

Library Databases for Finding eBooks

To connect to library databases from off campus you'll need to login just like you do for email or Canvas

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database for preliminary reading as you start your research. You'll learn about your topic by reading authoritative topic overviews on a wide variety of subjects.
eBook Collection: EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search our collection of thousands of eBooks the MJC Library owns through EBSCOhost.
World Folklore and Folklife This link opens in a new window
Covers broad subjects like literature, gender roles, and cultural studies by exploring international topics like celebrations, rituals, myths, religion, beliefs, urban legends, music, dance, holidays, food, tales, and traditional arts and crafts