Search for Articles by Subject
Click on a subject below to find relevant article databases filled with credible sources you can use for college-level research. Not sure what subject to choose? Start with General: All Subjects.
For information on connecting from off campus and for instructions on using specific article databases, check out Get Help.
To get more detailed help researching a specific subject use our MJC Library Research Guides created by MJC Librarians to help you with your research.
What If MJC Doesn't Have What I Need?
If you're looking for an article in a journal or magazine that the MJC Library doesn't subscribe to either in print or electronically, don't worry; we can have it sent to you here from another library. This service is called, Interlibrary Loan, and it allows us to locate and get copies of library materials sent here from other libraries around the country or around the world for you to check out and return here. You can find out more about this service and complete a request form on the MJC Library's Web site.
General: All Subjects
Search 35 databases simultaneously that cover almost any topic you need to research at MJC. Include Gale databases in all your searches
Includes five billion searchable documents from more than 40,000 legal, news and business sources
Authoritative encyclopedia entries predominantly from World Almanac Encyclopedia
Find it fast with almanac entries predominantly from The World Almanac and Book of Facts
Background Information
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Signed scholarly articles in hundreds of authoritative reference books
Overviews of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America
Facts On File Databases - Search all databases simultaneously or search individual Facts On File databases:
- Today's Science - Original reports explaining important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology
- World News Digest- Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the Facts On File World News Digest in print
- Issues & Controversies - Reports on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture
- Issues & Controversies in American History - Provides the background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for the major topics in American history
Hundreds of full-text authoritative resources for topics on American and world popular culture, past and present
Academic Journals
Provides scholarly articles from nearly 4000 journals and reference sources
Includes articles from nearly 2500 scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Contains articles from nearly 560 scholarly journals, some dating as far back as 1965
Controversial Issues
Overviews of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America
Facts On File Databases - Search all databases simultaneously or search individual Facts On File databases:
- Today's Science - Original reports explaining important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology
- World News Digest- Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the Facts On File World News Digest in print
- Issues & Controversies - Reports on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture
- Issues & Controversies in American History - Provides the background, outcomes, and
contemporary points of view for the major topics in American
history
Paper Topic Ideas
Browse the list of reports by topic to see all the reports related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America
Browse the list of research topics to find all related reports on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture
Issues & Controversies in American History
Explore key themes in American history
Browse the list of research topics to find all related articles that explain important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology
Browse the list of research topics to find all related articles on important topics found in World News Digest
Arts & Humanities
Gale Databases - Search
all 35 databases simultaneously or search individual Gale Databases:
- Communications and Mass Media Collection - Provides current information from more than 100 journals focusing on all aspects of the communications field
- Fine Arts & Music Collection - Provides broad coverage of the arts from music and music theory to drama and the performing arts. It also provides content in the visual arts and art history
MJC Journal Titles - Browse a partial list of MJC journal titles devoted to the arts & humanitites:
Agriculture
Gale Databases - Search all 35 databases simultaneously or search individual Gale Databases:
- Agriculture Collection - Find current and authoritative articles in over 130 journal titles that focus on practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture
- Environmental Studies and Policy Collection - This collection of nearly 100 journals provides robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, and corporate interests
- Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Collection - Custom collection of nearly 50 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture
MJC Earth & Environmental Sciences Journals
Browse a partial list of MJC journal titles devoted to the earth & environmental sciences
Biography
Profiles more than 380,000 individuals from throughout history and from around the world. Biographies are culled from reference titles, hundreds of screened, reliable journals, magazines, and newspapers, images, and Web sites
Search more than 300 full-text authoritative resources for topics on American and world popular culture, past and present
Business/Economics
Includes five billion searchable documents from more than 40,000 legal, news and business sources
Gale Databases - Search all 35 databases simultaneously or search individual Gale Databases:
- Business and Company ASAP - Provides information on companies, markets and industries culled from business and trade journals, newspapers, and company directory profiles with full text and images
- Business Economics & Theory - This collection of 150 publications based on the EconLit title list covers diverse topics like economic development, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, government regulation, and more
- General BusinessFile ASAP - Provides access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings
- Insurance and Liability Collection - This collection, comprised of over 20 journals, takes a broad view of this industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more
- Small Business Collection - Provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories drawn from over 280 publications
- Tourism, Hospitality & Leisure Collection - Provides coverage of the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field in addition to focused study on specialized topics like cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more
- Vocations, Careers & Technical Education - Provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals
This database provides political, geographic, economic, and business information for the countries of the world
MJC Business & Economics Journals
Browse
a partial list of MJC journal titles devoted
to business & economics
Ebooks
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Signed scholarly articles in hundreds of authoritative reference books
Thousands of previously-published ebooks available whenever, wherever you need them
Education
Gale Databases - Search all 35 databases simultaneously or search individual Gale Databases:
- Educators 200 Collection - Perfect for educating future teachers and administrators, this set includes over 250 titles covering the latest technologies, developments, instruction and coaching breakthroughs
Browse
a partial list of MJC journal titles devoted
to the social sciences including education
History & Military
Facts On File Databases - Search all databases simultaneously or search individual Facts On File databases:
- World News Digest - Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the Facts On File World News Digest in print
- Issues & Controversies in American History - Provides the background, outcomes, and
contemporary points of view for the major topics in American
history
Gale Databases - Search all 35 databases simultaneously or search individual Gale Databases:
- Military and Intelligence Database - Includes over 400 journals that cover all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs
- U.S. History Collection - Provides coverage of the current thinking and events in U.S. history, as well as scholarly work being established in the field
- War and Terrorism Collection - Offers insight into conflicts: their causes, their impact, and how they are perceived on a global scale
- World History Collection - This collection of nearly 40 journals provides balanced coverage of events in world history
MJC History & Archaeology Journals
Browse
a partial list of MJC journal titles devoted
to history & archaeology
Law & Criminal Justice
Includes five billion searchable documents from more than 40,000 legal, news and business sources
Gale Databases - Search all 35 databases simultaneously or search individual Gale Databases:
- Criminal Justice Collection - Provides access to 150 journals you need if you are studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security
MJC Law, Politics & Government Journals
Browse
a partial list of MJC journal titles devoted
to law, politics & government
Literature
Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) and Poetry Criticism (PC) both of which are staples of literary criticism research. Each volume of CLC provides significant passages from published criticism of works by today's creative writers. It includes criticism on influential writers who are now living or who died after 1959. Excerpted criticism comes from literary reviews, magazines, scholarly journals, and books. PC provides substantial critical excerpts and biographical information on the world's most frequently discussed and studied poets.
Gale Databases - Search all 35 databases simultaneously or search individual Gale Databases:
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Signed scholarly articles in hundreds of authoritative reference books
Covers broad subjects like literature, gender roles, and cultural studies by exploring international topics like celebrations, rituals, myths, religion, beliefs, urban legends, music, dance, holidays, food, tales, and traditional arts and crafts
MJC Languages & Literatures Journals
Browse
a partial list of MJC journal titles devoted
to languages & the study of literature from around the world
News
Includes five billion searchable documents from more than 40,000 legal, news and business sources
Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the Facts On File World News Digest in print
Nursing & Allied Health
Gale Databases - Search all 35 databases simultaneously or search individual Gale Databases:
- Health Reference Center Academic - Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's Health Reference Center
- Nursing and Allied Health Collection - Covers all aspects of the nursing profession from direct patient care to health care administration
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection - Includes over 60 titles in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine
MJC Health & Biological Sciences Journals
Browse
a partial list of MJC journal titles devoted
to health & the biological sciences
Political Science
This database provides political, geographic, economic, and business information for the countries of the world
Overviews of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America
MJC Law, Politics & Government Journals
Browse
a partial list of MJC journal titles devoted
to law, politics & government
Primary Sources
Issues & Controversies in American History - Primary Documents
View primary source documents that shaped U.S. history
World News Digest - Historic Documents
View historic documents arranged by year or title
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Find primary sources in this online collection of authoritative reference books
Add the word sources to your search of thousands of previously-published ebooks
Psychology
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Contains articles from nearly 560 scholarly journals, some dating as far back as 1965
Gale Databases - Search all 35 databases simultaneously or search individual Gale Databases:
- Psychology Collection - Contains articles from nearly 200 publications on topics that provide a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions, and how the human mind evolves over time
Browse a partial list of MJC journal titles devoted to the social sciences including psychology
Science & Technology
Current original reports explain important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology
Gale Databases - Search all 35 databases simultaneously or search individual Gale Databases:
- Computer Database - Includes product introductions, news and reviews covering hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology
- General Science Collection - Provides coverage of all scientific endeavor, including topics like particle physics and quantum theory, advanced mathematics, biotechnology, and more
MJC Journal Titles - Browse a partial list of MJC journal titles devoted to the sciences & technology:
Social Sciences & Culture
Overviews of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy in America
Reports on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture
Hundreds of full-text authoritative resources for topics on American and world popular culture, past and present
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Contains articles from nearly 560 scholarly journals, some dating as far back as 1965
Covers broad subjects like literature, gender roles, and cultural studies by exploring international topics like celebrations, rituals, myths, religion, beliefs, urban legends, music, dance, holidays, food, tales, and traditional arts and crafts
Gale Databases - Search all 35 databases simultaneously or search individual Gale Databases:
- Diversity Studies Collection - Explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in our global community
- Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Issues Collection - Includes 30 journals that provide articles covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and more
- Pop Culture Collection - Provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art, or liberal arts course
- Religion & Philosophy Collection - Includes nearly 250 publications and covers topics about different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives
This database provides political, geographic, economic, and business information for the countries of the world
MJC Journal Titles - Browse a partial list of MJC journal titles:
Statistics
Find it fast with almanac entries predominantly from The World Almanac and Book of Facts
Contains statistics on California and U.S. public policy issues
Browse
a partial list of MJC journal titles devoted
to statistics
Description
Loading content... please wait


